“Pray A to Z” by Amelia Rhodes

A very simple format in this book on prayer. Author Amelia Rhodes teaches us in prayer in a simple alphabetical arrangements of subjects. “Prayer A to Z” looks at subjective prayers with each entry giving a Bible passage, a short commentary, and a prayer.

The mode is simple, the material is accessible, and the message is for us to be open to new subjects. I found many of Rhodes comments to be uplifting and encouraging. I was especially touched by her content on the subject of GRATITUDE: In her prayer she evokes: “Father, it’s easy to give thanks when life is full of good things and I don’t have to hunt for the blessings. It can also be easy to forget to give thanks when life is good and things are going well.” How true.

Or, consider a portion of her prayer on the subject of KINDNESS: “Father, I desire to display the fruit of kindness, yet sometimes I don’t now how to do so Through your Holy Spirit, please grow this fruit in me until it overflows into the lives around me. Prompt me with practical ideas to reach our and offer Your loving-kindness to those around me every day.”

Finally, under the subject of PAIN: “Father, I lift up individuals who struggle with physical pain on a daily basis. Pain interrupts their lives and prevents enjoyment of many activities they love. Help all in pain now they are not alone Remind them to bring their pain to you….”

I found this to be an easy to read, easy to understand book with some sound spiritual guidance. I think it would appeal especially to the new Christian, and highly recommend this book to such a reader. I hope you enjoy.

I received an Advanced Reader’s Copy (ARC) of this book from the publisher, Worthy Publishing, in exchange for an honest and timely review. There are no other expectations beyond this review, and no connections between this reviewer, the publisher, or the author. Thank you.

Leave a Reply

