Priceless: She’s Worth Fighting For by Joel and Luke Smallbone (with Nancy Rue)

To be honest, this book was saved by the events in the second half of the book. I thought that “Priceless” started out at a painfully slow pace. It wasn’t until I was about 100 pages into the book before it grabbed my attention and interest. Joel and Luke Smallbone (front men for the Christian band ‘For King and Country’) tackle a very difficult subject of human trafficking and exploitation of young women. It’s the story of two young sisters from Mexico who were sold into the trafficking business to settle the debts of their father. And its the story of a young man who transported them to Reno, Nevada and eventually became their hopeful rescuer. I’ll leave the rest of the plot to you to read and digest.

Like I said, around page 100, the story picks up speed and the book, that I earlier considered putting down, became nearly impossible to put down for even a moment. The subject matter made this book very compelling, and challenging to consider the size and scope of such a demonic business. Living in the Southern Bible, the subject of human trafficking is not something I’ve ever been forced to understand. But now, I realize the possibility that it may even be happening in my own back yard.

The underlying theme is how men should value women. Hence, the title “PRICELESS”. And that valuation is clearly present in the eyes and heart of the male protagonist, James Stevens. Stevens is trying to overcome a difficult and tragic past in order to be re-united with his daughter. And he shows the reader how its done.

Despite the very slow beginning, I urge the reader to keep on reading, and you will be given a very satisfying conclusion. I, therefore, award this book four (4) stars, as a good and worthwhile read.

I received a copy of this book from the publisher (Worthy Publishing) in exchange for an honest and timely review. I have no other associations with the publisher or authors. This review is being posted on Amazon.com, Goodreads.com, my blog jonreviewsbooks1.wordpress.com, and Twitter.

Happy reading!

Leave a Reply

