“Words to Live By”, by Linda J. Gilden and Dalene V. Parker

The subtitle of this unique devotional is “52 Ordinary Words that Lead to an Extraordinary Life”.  The subtitle speaks volumes about the content of this interesting presentation.

Generally, when I review books, I will read them, write the reviews, and relegate the books to a little visited shelf, or perhaps a box in the closet.  I can tell you however, that this book will remain on my table and will be referenced often in the months ahead.

52 weekly topics are presented in five parts for daily reading.  You spend a week on each subject.  Some important words to live by that drew my attention and interest include: Believe, choose, cherish, honor, praise, laugh, sacrifice, and persevere.  All honorable words and actions that reflect a heart yielded to the Almighty One.

The book is written cleanly, clearly, and concisely, and the reader will often find himself stopping mid-sentence or mid-paragraph to suddenly consider the weight of the words just digested.  Linda and Dalene do a marvelous job bringing us to a new level of understanding and appreciation across these 52 different subjects.

This is a new style of devotional that I like very much.  Its appropriate for all age groups and both men and women.  I do realize that this volume will more greatly appeal to women, and women will be the major audience.  I do, however, hope that my few comments on this high quality production will draw male readers as well.  Because, I’ll tell you what, gentlemen…. we need to hear this stuff, and we need to get this kind of teaching in our own masculine spirits.

I highly recommend this book to all readers, and it comes with my hearty “atta girls” to both authors.  This book is available now and I urge you to pick up your copy at your earliest opportunity.

I received an advanced readers copy from the publisher in exchange for my honest and timely review.  There are no other expectations beyond said review.  This review will appear on Goodreads.com, Amazon.com, and my blog, jonreviewsbooks1.wordpress.com.

 

 

Leave a Reply

