Louis L’Amour Still Rocks

The graphic novel “Law of the Desert Born” hits bookshelves on October 8, 2013.

One clear memory of childhood was looking at my dad’s recliner chair.  He was a hard working laborer who struggled to put food on the table, and clothing on our backs.  Sometimes I would sit in his big chair when he was at work, or away for whatever reason.  There was one constant in this picture….

There was ALWAYS a small stack of paperbacks sitting next to his chair.  All written by Louis L’Amour.  I believe my dad read every book, short story, and article by or about his favorite author.

When I gained the opportunity to read and review this new graphic novel, I jumped at the chance.

With excellent artwork, and a fast paced dialogue, this L’Amour short story did not surprise.  This tale first appeared as a short story in 1946.  Louis was very popular with the post-war men of this country, and was highly regarded by many during this incredibly important time in our country’s history.

Son, Beau L’Amour, exhumed this story from the vast archives of his father’s work.  And, the graphic novelization of this story fits very nicely into this genre.  Sharp, short conversation among these cowboys, we’re treated to fist fights, gun fights, a sheriff’s posse and more, that makes these Westerns classics.  Beau very nicely took his father’s short story and transformed it to a very successful graphic presentation.

I generally don’t read or review graphic novels, comics, etc., but this one caught my eye, and I’m glad that I was able to procure a copy.  It’s a very quick and entertaining read.  I’m very pleased that the iconic work of Louis L’Amour lives on, touching future generations.  A 4-Star Effort!!

I received a complementary copy of this book for the purpose of review.  There are no other obligations beyond a prompt and honest review.  This review will also be posted at my blog, JonReviewsBooks1.Wordpress.com, and will appear on Amazon upon the book’s release.

Leave a Reply

