“Tough Topics” by Sam Storms

“Tough Topics” by Sam Storms is a well presented, and well researched work that is appropriate for both new Christians and seasoned Christians.

Storms tackles 25 dogmatic questions that run the gamut from “What is Blasphemy?” “Are babies who die saved?” to “Can a Christian be demonized?” “Should all Christians speak in tongues?” and “Are Christians Obligated to Tithe?”

Virtually every question was addressed, some from a number of points of view, and backed by scripture.  I learned a whole lot more than I thought I would.  Herein lies the reason that Christians of all ages must continue to nourish their hearts and minds in their walk with Christ.

Sam Storms is a pastor of a large church in the Oklahoma City area.  He bills himself as an “Amillennial, Calvinistic, charismatic, credo-baptistic, complementarian, Christian Hedonist…”

This book is not a quick read.  It’s based on research, and in the process, the reader will be moved to do some research of his own.

I took away several truths from this excellent resource.  First, Storm’s treatment of tithing brought me some new insights in that those in early Israel may have been required to tithe up to 27% of their income.  I enjoyed Sam’s presentation of this.

I scratched my head in a number of discussions, but found myself sharply disagreeing with but one point in the entire volume.  During his discussion on whether a Christian can be demonized, I hold a firm opinion on the trichotomy of man.  We are body, soul, and spirit.  Dr. Storms is of an opposing position, claiming that soul and spirit are one in the same.  Thus man is a dichotomous being.

Other than this theological difference, I enjoyed and embraced all of Sam Storm’s teaching.

When you get this book, and I certainly hope you do, be prepared to read and re-read many sentences or paragraphs to let the Truth soak in.  Have your Bible at the ready, to consult scriptural passages that support the author’s arguments.

This reading experience was an excellent one.  I took much away from the book, and will indeed encourage others to get a copy of their own.  I read this in e-book format, but plan to purchase a hard copy when it arrives on the market.  Thus, I can highlight and mark up, and add my own thoughts to the margins.  That is precisely how a seeker should tackle a book like “Tough Questions”.

I received this book as an ARC from the publisher in exchange for a fair and honest review. There are no expectations beyond that.  I have no personal or professional ties to either the author or the publisher.

Leave a Reply

