“ForeTalk: The 7 Critical Conversations for Living in the Season of Now” by Stan Craig

I remember when I was young and dumb.  In fact, some of the dumbness has never worn off.  But, when you’re young, you think your invincible.  I had this hang up that if I invested in life insurance, I was surely signing my death warrant.  I didn’t want to go through the sobering process of preparing for my old age and certain death.  (As far as I know, Enoch and Elijah are the only ones who have avoided physical death).  But, regardless, I think too many of us abhor the thought of estate planning.

Author Stan Craig found himself in this predicament when his brother unexpectedly passed away.  Stan was faced with handling his brother’s estate and final affairs.  Burdened by that experience, Stan Craig proceeded to write “ForeTalk: The 7 Critical Conversations for Living in the Season of Now”.

The book is part textbook, and part workbook.  It gently guides the reader through the process of having these 7 critical conversations now, rather than having our loved ones gathered in the back of a funeral home, fussing, arguing and carrying on about which casket Dad should be buried in, who will handle this, and who will handle that.  It is presented in a solid Christian manner, respecting the faith of the entire family.

As one who has gone through life threatening illness (5 heart attacks at age 53) myself, I certainly appreciate some of these vital conversations.

Mr. Craig truly does this in a workbook format, with questions to answer, lists to make, as well as room for copious notes in the generous margins.

The author walks us through the task of creating a financial strategy to create long term income, writing a will that will withstand challenges (I think from those obnoxious cousins who are always sponging off somebody in the family.  We’ve all got them!), choosing executors and granting powers of attorney, planning our funeral, and much more.

The book is well written, well organized, and gently guides us through these difficult conversations.

I believe every family man, whether he be a father or grandfather, should get and utilize this book.  It’s a wonderful tool that keeps everything in one place for when those days arrive.

I commend this book to you with my highest rating, because we owe this kind of attention to the details that impact our family.

I received a copy of this book as an ARC from the publisher, with the only expectation being a fair and honest review.  There are no financial connections between the publisher, the author, or this reviewer.  This review will appear on Goodreads.com, Amazon.com, NetGalley.com, and my blog: JonReviewsBooks1.wordpress.com.

Blessings!

Leave a Reply

