“How to Pray When You’re Pissed at God” by Ian Punnett

This book has been a puzzler for me to review.  The title was interesting and drew me in for further investigation.

Like most of the world, I’ve had periods in my own life where God and I weren’t on the best of terms.  I personally identified with several of the people mentioned in the book, and I was newly exposed to the idea of ‘angry psalms”.

What I didn’t enjoy was the raw, bawdy language used within the text.  I appreciated the discussions on the angry psalms, but, in my opinion, he went too far.  I really don’t need to know how the “f-word” is translated back to the Greek.  Likewise, being informed how “$h!t” translate back through English, German, and back to the ancient languages.  Just like I tell my teenagers: “TMI” (too much information).

Call me a Puritan, if you will, but I believe this writer’s advice borders on the sacrilegious.  I think that if you are not mature in your faith, this book would not be a help in your walk with the Lord.  And, if you ARE mature in your faith, I think your reception of the book could be anywhere between mildly annoyed to greatly offended.  

This book is sure to raise ample controversy upon it’s release.

I received an e-copy of this book as an ARC from NetGalley.com.  There are no personal, professional, nor financial ties or obligations between the author, publisher or myself.  I received the book in exchange for an honest and fair review.  This review can also be found on NetGalley.com, Goodreads.com, and Amazon.com.

Leave a Reply

